Ana María Cetto CV résumé (2013)

Ana María Cetto is full-time research professor of the Institute of Physics and lecturer at the Faculty of Sciences, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM). She holds a M.A. degree in Biophysics from Harvard University and a M.Sc. and Ph.D. in Physics from UNAM.

Her main field of research is theoretical physics, with emphasis on the foundations of quantum mechanics, where she has contributed substantially to the development of stochastic electrodynamics and the establishment of quantization as an emergent phenomenon due to the matter-zeropoint field interaction. She is author of *The Quantum Dice* (with L. de la Peña, Kluwer, 1996), over 110 research articles (85 in physics) and another 150 publications, which altogether have received over 1300 citations. She has been visiting scholar or professor at the Universities of Paris VI, London (Birkbeck College and University College), Rome (La Sapienza) and Cantabria.

She has lectured about 100 university courses in physics and biology, has tutored 25 graduate and postgraduate students, and has co-authored a series of college textbooks in physics.

Prof. Cetto also dedicates herself to the research and promotion of scientific journals in Latin America. She is founding president of LATINDEX, online information system for Ibero-American and Caribbean scholarly journals. She is former editor-in-chief of *Revista Mexicana de Física* and has written extensively on scientific publishing, as well as on science education, popularization and policy.

Prof. Cetto has served as Dean of the Faculty of Sciences, Head of the Department of Physics of the Faculty of Sciences and Head of the Theoretical Physics Department of the Institute of Physics (UNAM). She chaired the project for the Museum on Light (UNAM), inaugurated in 1996. She served as consultant for the UNESCO World Conference of Science (1999). From 2003 to 2010 she served as Deputy Director General of the International Atomic Energy Agency (Nobel Peace Prize 2005), where she headed the Department of Technical Cooperation.

Prof. Cetto has held honorary positions in a number of international organizations, *i.a.* the Executive Boards of Interciencia Association, Third World Organization for Women in Science (TWOWS, co-founder), International Council for Science (ICSU, Secretary-General 2002-2008), the Governing Board of United Nations University (UNU, 1998-2004), the Council of International Network of Engineers and Scientists (INES), the Council and Executive Committee (1992-2002) of Pugwash Conferences (Nobel Peace Prize 1995), and the Board of Trustees of International Foundation for Science (IFS, 2003-2010). She is an elected member of the Academy of Sciences of the Developing World (TWAS) and the World Future Council (WFC).

Prof. Cetto received the Golden Award of the International League of Humanists (1998), the National Prize for the Development of Physics of the Mexican Physical Society (2000), UNAM's Award Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz (2006), the Second Prize to Mexican Women Innovators for the LATINDEX initiative (2008), the 2010 Juchiman Award for Science and Technology (Mexico) and the National Research Prize of the Mexican Physical Society (2012). She holds honorary doctorates from the Tajik State National University (2007), the Azerbaijan National Academy of Sciences (2010) and APEC University in the Dominican Republic (2011). She was appointed Mexico's Woman of the Year in 2003.